High Tech and Light Tech

As I talked about in my last post, I combined the first two chunks of my project into one large post because of their similarity. There are lots of resources available to SLPs, especially pertaining to applications and websites for therapy. So here, I’m just going to highlight some of my favorite light tech and high tech resources and discuss how they can be used either at home or in the classroom/office, and more importantly, how they are fun!

First off, one of my favorite light tech activities I looked at was this nifty contraption that you can make or purchase at a store (I’ve seen them at Barnes and Noble):

Phonics-I-Spy-game-666x1000

Its speech language pathology application is simple: have the child find the object that matches the sound that you are working on. For example, if you are working on the sound /m/, the child would search for a monkey and then read the word aloud. I thought that this would be a fun light tech activity because children love searching for hidden treasure! The idea came fromĀ http://theimaginationtree.com/2013/11/phonics-spy-discovery-bottle.html.

Now for a favorite app of mine! In the EDIT 5500 class, we spent some time reviewing free apps on iPads-it was the first time I had ever used an iPad mini! I found some good apps, and some that weren’t worth the download, but the best thing that I found is that there are tons and tons of blogs that review mobile applications for SLPs and parents of children with speech and language disorders. This app, which I first discovered onĀ http://speechymusings.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/must-have-free-apps-for-every-slp-or-slp-graduate-student/, can be used for a variety of different students. It’s “The Little Finder”, and I have to say that I am addicted.

little finder

How this blog described the use of the app was simple. The name of the object is both presented visually and audibly, and the child has to search the board to find it. This reinforces connecting sounds to print words, and words to visual objects. Plus, in its competition format, the game gets really intense!

Leave a Reply

